• Mike Gahagan


Spartan South Midlands League

After two impressive results a moment of indiscipline cost Amersham Town dear in this bottom of the table clash.

On an astroturf pitch and kicking against a strong wind Amersham were comfortable and went into the break a goal to the good. Chances for both sides were limited as defences dominated. Park View came closest to a goal when, spying Town keeper Alex Clarke off his line, a midfielder tried a shot from his own half. There seemed no danger but Clarke slipped on the greasy surface and did well to turn the ball round the post.

Town went ahead in the forty sixth minute. A long through pass found Hassan Al-Murtada who controlled the ball well but was brought down as he advanced on goal for a clear penalty. Tom Littleboy made no mistake from the spot for his fourth goal in three matches. Just as the whistle blew to end the half a melee ensued and Amersham’s Mikey Hagan was dismissed for throwing a punch.

Missing one of their best players and fulcrum at the centre of defence Amersham were always going to find the second half difficult. Park View also deserve credit for playing on Amersham’s weakness. They moved the ball forward quickly either down the middle or through the wings and stretched the outnumbered Town defence.

Within fifteen minutes of the start of the half Park View had scored three goals. For the first, on forty seven minutes, the ball was pulled back to Bright Debrah on the edge of the penalty area and he shot low and hard beyond Clarke’s dive and into the corner of the net. Three minutes later a swift Park View counter attack found four attackers and only one defender. A simple ball across the goal gave Pedro Tekasala the formality of a tap in. The third goal on sixty minutes was also the result of a quick break and a ball across the area for Debrah to hammer home.

Everything was now going right for Park View as exemplified by their final goal. Kofi Oti-Atakorah tried his luck thirty five yards out and the ball flew past Clarke and into the net off the bar.

Amersham Town: Clarke, Devall, Mistretta, Hagan, Beaumont, Aldridge, Littleboy, Grant, Wallace, Al-Murtada, Archer. Subs: Thomas, Johnson, Andrews, Ankrah, Ramsey.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Changes are noted in bold and italics: CONSTITUTION OF AMERSHAM TOWN FOOTBALL CLUB 1. The Club shall be called Amersham Town Football Club and its headquarters and clubhouse shall be located