• Mike Gahagan



As he left the ground one spectator commented that he’d seen more incident in that game than in many West End shows.

No doubt he was thinking of the second half. The first half had been sufficiently tedious that several Amersham supporters had to be woken up after forty five minutes. There were, however, two incidents of note. On thirty four minutes Amersham lost the ball in midfield and a lob forward found Langford’s Lewis Foster running beyond the Amersham defence to slot the ball coolly past Alex Clarke in the Amersham goal, Langford were the better team throughout the half and is was something of a surprise when Amersham, who had failed to mount a meaningful attack, equalised in the last minute. A long Tommee Seaton corner found Luke Symons unmarked at the far post to head home.

Whatever was said to the Amersham players during the break clearly worked. They came out fired up to put the Langford defence under pressure. After only four minutes Joseph Madeinlo cut in from the left and, from twenty five yards, unleashed a curling shot into the top of the net leaving Langford keeper Ben Watson helpless. In the next attack Madinlo beat his man and three Amersham attackers just failed to reach his cross.

Langford, however, equalised on seventy minutes when an Amersham defender, thinking the ball was going out for a throw, allowed the winger to advance unchallenged and cross for Jonny Butler to have a simple tap in. The game was now end to end and tempers were becoming frayed. Three minutes after the goal Amersham’s Seldwyn Grant was red carded for kicking out at a Langford player. Far from retreating into their shells the Amersham ten men seemed to draw strength from the dismissal and they retook the lead on seventy five minutes. Madeinlo again beat his marker on the outside and crossed to Josh Johnson. As he shielded the ball he was brought down for a clear penalty. Seaton’s first kick was straight at Watson but the keeper had advanced off his line. Taking advantage of the reprieve Seaton blasted the retake into the net. Amersham were then grateful to Clarke for a fine save as he clawed away a goal bound header.

Amersham Town: Clarke, Aldridge, Doumbia, Seaton, Peacock, Symons, Madeinlo, Grant, Thomas, Johnson, Wallace. Subs: Beaumont, Stevens, Ankrah, Littleboy, Malone.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Changes are noted in bold and italics: CONSTITUTION OF AMERSHAM TOWN FOOTBALL CLUB 1. The Club shall be called Amersham Town Football Club and its headquarters and clubhouse shall be located