• Mike Gahagan


Spartan South Midlands Division One Cup.

Great credit is due to Simon Damery, Chairman of Amersham Town who also prepares the pitch, for providing an excellent playing surface for this game in spite of days of heavy rain. His reward was an entertaining match with both teams playing good football.

The first half hour was evenly contested with few chances. Town keeper Tristan Thomas did well to parry over the bar a strong shot from a Tigers forward whilst, at the other end, Harry Andrews reached the by-line on a couple of occasions but his crosses were well defended.

The first goal for Amersham arrived on thirty six minutes. From a free kick about twenty five yards out to the left of the penalty area Darnell Ramsey spotted that Salvia Palacios in the Tigers goal had taken up position in the centre of his posts. Ramsey’s well taken free kick was aimed at the near post, hit the post past Palacios’s dive and rebounded off the woodwork and prone keeper and into the net. Both teams then his the woodwork just before the break. A Tigers corner on the left was missed by all defenders, rebounded off the near post and was cleared. At the other end a Tom Littleboy corner swung towards goal, eluded Palacios and rebounded off the far post and into the arms of the grateful keeper.

If there was an element of good fortune about the first Amersham goal there was nothing lucky about the next two. Two minutes after the break Amersham picked up the ball in midfield and a lovely passing move ended with Reon Thomas knocking the ball past Palacios and into the net. Seventeen minutes later an Amersham goal kick was collected and passed forward down the middle for Thomas to outpace his markers and drive the ball left footed past the advancing Palacios.

There was still time for Tigers’ Daniel Martin to produce a dangerous cross from the left only for Town’s Luke Seymour to produce a saving block almost on the line to preserve Town’s clean sheet for the first time this season.

Amersham Town: Thomas, Devall, Doumbia, Hagan, Symons, Aldridge, Johnson, Ankrah, Thomas, Anrews, Ramsey. Subs: Clarke, Littleboy, Williams, Wallace, Beaumont.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Changes are noted in bold and italics: CONSTITUTION OF AMERSHAM TOWN FOOTBALL CLUB 1. The Club shall be called Amersham Town Football Club and its headquarters and clubhouse shall be located